activities. (14) The Division of Industrial Hygiene provides a consulting service to management, labour and governmental agencies on matters pertaining to industrial health, evaluates occupational health hazards by scientific methods, including the operation of a laboratory of industrial hygiene; it makes recommendations as to the best means of controlling hazards and ensures that effective control measures are applied.

Health Services Planning Commission.—This Commission is charged with the task of preparing plans for providing all types of health services and facilities. It assesses the costs of these services and the needs of different areas for various kinds of services. It acts as an advisory and consultative body to local regions wishing to provide services for their residents. The Province has been divided into 14 proposed health regions, two of which have been established—Swift Current Health Region No. 1 and Weyburn-Estevan Health Region.

The Commission has certain administrative functions connected with the administration of medical care grants, recommendations regarding hospital areas, and capital expenditure grants to hospitals. It must approve of by-laws and contracts for all types of municipal schemes. The Commission is advised by a voluntary advisory committee of representatives of some 29 lay and professional associations in the Province.

Cancer Commission.—This Commission, created in 1930, has established consultative, diagnostic and treatment clinics for cancer at Regina and Saskatoon. Radon is manufactured at a plant in Saskatoon. The cancer services, including surgery at either clinic, are given at the expense of the Province.

 ${\it Poliomyelitis.} {\it --} Free\ treatment\ of\ cases\ is\ available\ at\ Saskatoon\ and\ Regina.$ 

Tuberculosis.—Free diagnostic and treatment services are available in three sanatoria and a number of clinics operated by the Saskatchewan Anti-Tuberculosis League and financed by government grants and per capita charges on municipalities. Annual surveys are carried out throughout the Province, areas where the incidence is highest being given priority, and are financed by voluntary subscription.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health administers all public health matters in the Province and includes the following Divisions: Communicable Diseases; Sanitary Engineering and Sanitation; Public Health Education; Laboratory; Tuberculosis Control; Public Health Nursing; Municipal Hospitals; Hospital Inspection; Social Hygiene; Vital Statistics; Mental Hygiene; Dental Hygiene; Entomology; and Cancer.

The following institutions are administered by the Department: Central Alberta Sanatorium; the Provincial Mental Hospital, Ponoka; the Provincial Training School, Red Deer; the Provincial Auxiliary Hospital, Claresholm; the Provincial Auxiliary Hospital, Raymond; the Provincial Mental Institute, Edmonton.

Free clinics for venereal disease are maintained at the following centres: Edmonton, Calgary, Medicine Hat, Lethbridge, Peace River, High Prairie, McLennan, and in the two provincial gaols. Arsenicals are provided free of charge to all private physicians treating venereal disease. Educational work on social hygiene is carried on by means of lectures, moving pictures, bulletins and radio talks.